实现长期可持续回报

 

 

淡马锡的投资重点与时俱进,但多年来作为长期资产所有者和投资者的基本投资理念几乎没有大的改变。

在过去的41年中,我们最初主要投资在获益于新加坡转型的本土公司,并逐步扩大至亚洲及其他地区的增长型经济体。


我们积极将投资范围拓展至其他经济体,如拉丁美洲、北美洲和欧洲。近期在伦敦和纽约设立了办事处,以加强在这些地区的投资业务。淡马锡的投资组合公司也逐年延伸了全球和区域内的发展足迹。


我们的投资活动依然围绕着淡马锡四大投资主题及其代表的长远趋势:


  • 转型中的经济体
  • 增长中的中产阶级
  • 强化的比较优势
  • 新兴的龙头企业
投资与脱售决策取决于自下而上的内涵价值测试。

我们依据经风险调整后要求的资本回报来追踪我们的投资回报率。在不同的市场周期下,这一基本原则驱动着淡马锡的投资策略、资金配置、绩效评估和激励政策。


作为投资者,我们专注公司的内涵价值。单独的投资和脱售决策取决于自下而上的内涵价值测试。


作为资产所有者,我们保持充分的灵活度,在机会出现时积极重塑和平衡投资组合。我们可以进行大规模集中投资,并且不对资产类别、国家或行业设限。我们 可以依据对市场周期的判断,选择投资、脱售或持有现金。淡马锡的资本结构让我们能够着眼长远趋势,不受短期波动影响。


作为股东,淡马锡推行良好的公司治理,寄望于投资组合公司董事会来制定自身发展战略,并由管理层来管理日常运营并实现长期可持续的回报。


我们在投资组合公司中寻找价值创造的机会,并适时与各公司董事会和管理层分享看法以供他们参考。


我们推行良好的公司治理,寄望于投资组合公司董事会来制定自身发展战略。

我们继续将部分投资组合配置于第三方管理的基金,以此拓展我们在新市场的视野和共同投资的机会。截至2015年3月31日,我们的投资组合中大约有10% 配置于第三方管理的基金。同时,我们也会与志同道合的投资伙伴分享投资机会。


我们有时可能通过买卖期权和认股权来体现增持或减持某些投资的意向。我们也会通过衍生产品交易对冲汇率和股价的波动,衍生产品的收益或损失与相应投资的损失与收益对应。

Delivering Sustainable Returns over the Long Term

 


Our basic investment philosophy remains largely unchanged as an owner and investor for the longer term, even as our focus and priorities have evolved with time.

Over the course of our 41 year history, we evolved from investing mostly in Singapore companies growing with a transforming Singapore, to investing in companies in growth economies in Asia and elsewhere. 


We have actively extended our investment scope to other economies such as Latin America, North America and Europe and more recently opened offices in London and New York to step up activities in those regions. Our portfolio companies have also increased their global and regional exposure over the years. 


Our investment activities remain guided by our four investment themes and the long term trends they represent:


  • Transforming Economies
  • Growing Middle Income Populations
  • Deepening Comparative Advantages
  • Emerging Champions
Investment and divestment decisions are shaped by our bottom-up intrinsic value tests.

We track investment returns against a risk-adjusted hurdle rate. This drives our investment strategy, capital allocation, performance measurement and an incentive system to deliver over market cycles. 


As an investor, we are focused on intrinsic value. Individual investment and divestment decisions are shaped by our bottom-up intrinsic value tests. 


As an owner, we maintain full flexibility to reshape and actively rebalance our portfolio as opportunities arise. We are willing to take concentrated positions and do not have limits or targets for asset classes, countries or sectors. We may choose to invest, divest or remain in cash, depending on our view of the cycle. Our capital structure allows us to take a view on long term trends, and weather the cycles of short term volatility. 


As a shareholder, we promote good governance. We look to our investee companies’ boards to drive strategy, and their management to manage day to day operations and deliver sustainable long term returns from their respective strategies.


We identify value creation opportunities within our investee companies and engage with the boards and management to share our perspectives, as appropriate, for their consideration. 


We promote good governance and look to our investee companies’ boards to drive strategy.

We continue to invest a part of our portfolio in third party managed funds to deepen our insights in new markets and to open opportunities through co-investment. As at 31 March 2015, about 10% of the portfolio was held in third party managed funds. We also share some of our investment opportunities identified with like-minded co-investors.


From time to time, we may express our interest to invest or divest selected positions through options and warrants. We may also use derivatives to hedge the currency and share price fluctuations of our underlying investments, where the gains and losses of the derivatives are matched against corresponding losses and gains in the underlying investments.