2015年8月,新加坡迎来建国50周年华诞。淡马锡紧跟新加坡的非凡转型,早期与国家共同发展,并在近十几年来拓展至更广阔的亚洲市场。我们在不断创新并扩展业务领域的过程中继续捕捉新机遇。


值得庆幸的是,世界经济自2008–2009年全球金融危机以来正在缓慢复苏。本财年,全球环境普遍对证券市场有利,我们的投资组合也从中受益。而,考虑到全球范围内政策与监管的风险,我们仍将保持警惕。

本财年是淡马锡自全球金融危机以来,投资活动最为活跃的一年。新投资额为300亿新元,脱售额达到创纪录的190亿新元。

投资组合业绩表现

2,660亿新元

投资组合净值

截至2015年3月31日,淡马锡的投资组合净值为2,660亿新元比上一财年增加430亿新元,并在本财年末维持净现金状况。

按新元计算的1年期股东总回报率为19.20%,主要得益于新加坡和中国投资组合的强劲业绩。较长期的10年期和20年期股东总回报率分别为9%和7%。自1974年成立以来的股东总回报率为16%。


本财年的财富增值,即投资回报高于经风险调整后要求的合计资本回报的部分为255亿新元。

投资活动

本财年是淡马锡自全球金融危机以来,投资活动最为活跃的一年。新投资额为300亿新元,脱售额达到创纪录的190亿新元。新增投资的节奏体现出我们对全球经济未来几年的积极看法。同时,在流动性驱动部分市场大幅上涨的情况下,我们在下半财年增加了脱售活动以实现部分利得。


我们继续遵循四大投资主题:转型中的经济体、增长中的中产阶级、强化的比较优势及新兴的龙头企业,包括那些勇于创新、把握未来的公司。


9%

10年期股东总回报率

16%

自成立以来的股东总回报率

19.20%

1年期股东总回报率

淡马锡本财年三大投资领域为消费、金融服务、生命科学与农业。


消费领域是反映中产阶级壮大和经济体转型的晴雨表。本财年,我们完成了对 A.S. Watson 的大规模投资,并通过自愿收购要约购入了翱兰 (Olam) 的多数股权。


我们继续将金融服务投资组合扩展至部分非银行板块,包括得益于经济体转型及中产阶级发展的保险和消费金融,以及采用新技术挑战传统行业的电子做市和在线支付等。淡马锡本财年在这些领域的代表性投资包括 NN Group、Synchrony Financial、Virtu Financial 和 Adyen。


我们在生命科学与农业领域的投资主要集中在全球领先企业。淡马锡将投资组合拓展至兽药领域,对全球领先的动物保健公司 Ceva Santé Animale 进行了投资。我们也增持了美国生物药剂公司吉联亚科学 (Gilead  Sciences) 的股份,该公司在传染疾病和癌症创新疗法方面走在科技前沿。


300亿新元

本财年投资

190亿新元

本财年脱售
淡马锡将牵头重新打造万礼。

2015年1月,我们非常高兴地宣布与新加坡政府合作,在淡马锡自然生态组合新加坡动物园、夜间野生动物园及飞禽公园的历史和成功经验基础上,牵头将 万礼重新打造成为一个综合野生动物与自然遗产景区。淡马锡的项目团队正积极同利益相关群体及潜在伙伴们集思广益,共同设计这个需要数代人齐心协力完成的项目。


截至2015年3月31日,淡马锡按标的资产所在地划分的最高曝险(即投资组合敞口)在新加坡和中国,分别为28%和27%。


淡马锡在北美和欧洲的投资组合曝险分别小幅增长至9%和8%。


我们有大约10%的投资组合由第三方基金管理。


在北美和欧洲的曝险分别小幅增长至9%和8%。

我们的机构

自2004年起,淡马锡通过设立公开指标以贯彻长期财务原则。本财年,我们进一步扩大了公开指标的范畴,在信用评级外纳入更多信用参数,包括基于淡马锡作为投资实体财务数据的主要信贷指标,以衡量我们的信用质量。

在截至2015年3月31日的财年内,淡马锡的股息收入为79亿新元,利息开支为5亿新元,股息收入是利息开支的16.1倍。


淡马锡几何预期回报率模型 (T-GEM) 采用一套自下而上的稳健体系,按不同的经济情境模拟淡马锡的长期回报几率。


与利益相关群体的联系仍是淡马锡作为机构的优先任务。本财年,我们启用LinkedInTwitterInstagramYouTube 和 Facebook 等数字化平台,与包括年轻人在内的利益相关群体进行更广泛、更及时的沟通。


我们在2014年9月举办了首届淡马锡生态繁荣会议 (Ecosperity),与全球商界精英和思想领袖展开对话。我们相信经济发展与环境保护的目标能够同时实现。去年会议的主题是自然资源,今年主题是城镇化。我们还安排学生们 与参会嘉宾交流,并通过数码渠道与更广泛的群体分享有关信息。


16.1倍

股息收入与利息开支之比

79亿新元

股息收入
如果国会批准把淡马锡纳入国家储备净投资回报框架,将不会对我们的股息政策、投资策略或运营产生任何影响,也不会改变淡马锡保护过去所累积的储备金的宪法责任。

2015年2月,新加坡财政部长在向国会发表的预算案声明时,提议将淡马锡纳入国家储备净投资回报 (Net Investment Return) 框架,该框架为计算政府预算提供了规程。这意味着新加坡政府最高可使用淡马锡投资组合长期预期回报的一半,而非淡马锡向股东即新加坡财政部长派发股息的一半。如果国会批准把淡马锡纳入国家储备净投资回报框架,将不会对我们的股息政策、投资策略或运营产生任何影响,也不会改变淡马锡保护过去所累积的储备金的宪法责任。

我们的社群

2013年,为预防中东呼吸综合征 (MERS) 疫情侵袭亚洲,我们赞助新科工程(ST Engineering) 研发新一代 N95 口罩,包括适合儿童的尺寸。2015年,新科 工程成功推出 AIR+ 智能口罩,成为首个获得全球认证、拥有适合7岁以上 儿童使用尺寸的 N95 口罩,并同步推出舒适度和效果更好的 AIR+ 微型通风器。


2014年,我们设立了一支新基金 — 淡马锡紧急预备 (T-PREP) 基金,支援社群防患于未然,做好针对自然灾害或病毒疫情爆发等突发状况的应急准备。


我们在2014-2015年资助了多个公益项目。其中,淡马锡关怀基金会向13,000名新加坡弱势儿童派发了 AIR+ 智能口罩和 AIR+ 微型通风器。随着中东呼吸综合征疫情近期在韩国和亚洲部分地区蔓延,这项举措显得尤为及时。


2014年,我们设立了一支新基金 — 淡马锡紧急预备 (T-PREP) 基金,支援社群防患于未然,做好针对自然灾害或病毒疫情爆发等突发状况的应急准备。

淡马锡关怀基金会本财年及时推出的另一个项目是辅导员培训项目,援助那些遭受心理创伤的儿童。在2015年6月马来西亚沙巴州京那巴鲁山发生地震后,我们派出第一批经过培训的辅导员、社工和治疗师,为地震生还学生及亲友提供治疗。我们对生命的骤逝感到悲痛,并向不幸的家庭致以深切慰问。


本财年,淡马锡基金会为区域内理工学院和技术教育机构的学生举办了学生领袖交换试点项目。来自柬埔寨、印度尼西亚、菲律宾、新加坡、泰国和越南的300名学生,就区域经济及社群课题开展了跨文化学习与交流。该试点项目获得圆满成功,预计2015年招收的学生将翻倍。


经济展望

我们对未来几年的经济前景持谨慎乐观态度。美国经济复苏尽管偶有波折,但整体趋势不变。中国在探索更具可持续性的增长模式,同时也拥有多种方式和工具解决金融系统的信贷压力。


在此宏观背景下,结合大多数中央银行推行宽松的货币政策,带动主要证券市场大幅上涨,其中中国市场表现格外突出。鉴于此,市场估值已显著高于历史平均水平,特别是较成熟的市场。


本财年内能源价格的大幅调整令多数市场参与者感到意外。这在短期内增加了消费者的实际收入,同时降低了商业成本。虽然一些能源项目的投资缩减,但我们预计短期内能源价格不会大幅回调。


衷心感谢

为庆祝淡马锡成立40周年,我们在本财年举办了一系列社会公益活动,并以2014年9月在新加坡总统府举办的40周年晚宴作为活动的高潮。晚宴非常荣幸地邀请到陈庆炎总统与李显龙总理出席,同时汇聚了海内外众多淡马锡的友人和 伙伴。


在本财年的淡马锡国际委员会年度会议上,委员们针对投资者面对的部分最具挑战性课题进行了深度讨论,令我们获益匪浅。淡马锡衷心感谢委员们的卓越贡献。


淡马锡顾问委员会成立于2003年,令我们有机会吸收新加坡与区域内杰出政商界领袖的智慧和经验。我们的投资组合公司领导层和淡马锡管理层得到了顾问委员会的睿智指导,获益良多。2014年12月,淡马锡顾问委员会已完成使命,将由淡马锡区域顾问委员会取代。我们谨此向所有顾问委员们致以衷心感谢。


我感谢董事会各位同僚1年来给予的积极支持和指导,践行淡马锡管护者精神。本财年,我们有幸迎来三位新董事。如我在去年提及,陈育宠先生和黄志祥先生于2014年6月加入董事会。荷兰皇家蚬壳前执行总裁傅赛 (Peter Voser)先生则于2015年1月加入董事会。各位新董事为我们带来了金融及多个行业领域的丰富经验。


向李光耀先生致敬

最后,我谨在此向2015年3月23日与世长辞的新加坡建国总理李光耀先生致以特别的敬意。


50年前,李光耀先生领导一代新加坡人迎接充满挑战的未来,共同建设这个当时世界上最年轻的独立国家。他曾勉励民众:“10年之后,这里将崛起一座国际都市。永远不要畏惧。”


雇主、雇员和政府共同构建了开创性的劳、资、政三方合作关系,给新加坡带来稳定,并吸引了国际投资者,创造就业岗位,实现了社会与经济的繁荣。一大批包括淡马锡投资组合公司在内的新加坡企业得以发展壮大。


“世事多变,适者生存”
李光耀
新加坡建国总理
1966年7月13日

新加坡独立伊始,李光耀先生就设定了多元种族的社会基调,提倡民众不分种族、语言、宗教或文化,团结一致。建国之初,李先生还提出了“适者生存”的理念。为此,新加坡在国家层面发扬创业精神,进行创新和自我变革以适应环境的变化,不断发展和培养我们的人民。


李光耀先生和一代建国元勋们树立了讲求诚信、唯才是用的原则,奠定和培养了开放面对多元种族社会的基础和务实精神,塑造了正直行事、心系世代民众的品格。这些价值观为淡马锡及我们早期的投资组合公司提供了指引,从初期开始就以资产所有者的立场行事,在发展公司业务的同时承担起资产管护者的责任。


建国先辈们在李光耀先生的带领下,给我们留下了珍贵的遗产,令我们得以传承 下去,满怀信心地拥抱未来。


chairman-signature
林文兴


董事长

2015年7月

截至2015年3月31日为1,940亿美元。
本财年经风险调整后要求的合计资本回报率为8%。
指淡马锡控股 (私人) 有限公司 (THPL) 及旗下各投资控股公司 (IHCs) 的信息。IHCs 均是 THPL的全资子公司,其董事会或同等治理团队由 THPL、THPL 的全资子公司淡马锡私人有限公司 (TPL)和/或TPL的全资子公司的雇员或委任人士担任。THPL 及 IHCs 的主要业务是投资控股、融资或为 THPL 及 IHCs 自身提供投资咨询和顾问服务。
依据《新加坡财政部长 (成立) 法》(第183章),财政部长为法人团体。

August 2015 marks Singapore’s 50th year of independence. Temasek has tracked Singapore’s remarkable transformation, growing with Singapore in the early years and more widely with Asia in the recent decades. We continue to seize opportunities, as we create new pathways and push the boundaries for new possibilities.

We have been fortunate that the world is slowly recovering from the Global Financial Crisis of 2008/09. Our portfolio has benefited from the generally favourable global environment for equities last year. However, we remain vigilant, given the policy and regulatory risks around the world.


This was the most active year for us since the Global Financial Crisis.

Portfolio Performance

S$266b

Net portfolio value

As at 31 March 2015, our net portfolio value was S$266 billion, up S$43 billion from last year. We ended the year in a net cash position.

Our one-year Total Shareholder Return (TSR) was 19.20% in Singapore dollar terms, largely due to the strong performance of our Singapore and China portfolios. Longer term 10-year and 20-year TSRs were 9% and 7% respectively, and TSR since inception in 1974 was 16%.


Wealth Added, which is our dollar return above our aggregated risk-adjusted cost of capital hurdle for the year, was S$25.5 billion.

Portfolio Activities

This was the most active year for us since the Global Financial Crisis, in terms of investment activities, with S$30 billion of new investments and a record S$19 billion of divestments. Our pace of new investments reflects our benign view of the global economy over the next few years. We stepped up our divestments in the latter half of the year to capitalise on the liquidity-driven rally in some markets.


We continued with our four investment themes: Transforming Economies, Growing Middle Income Populations, Deepening Comparative Advantages and Emerging Champions. These include companies that are innovating and embracing the future.


9%

Ten-year TSR

16%

TSR since inception

19.20%

One-year TSR

The top three sectors for investments during the year were consumer, financial services, and life sciences & agriculture.


The consumer sector is a good proxy to growing middle income populations and transforming economies. During the year, we completed a significant investment in A.S. Watson, and acquired a majority stake in Olam through the completion of a voluntary general offer for the company’s shares.


We continued to expand our financial services portfolio into selected non-banking sub-sectors. These include insurance and consumer finance, which benefit from transforming economies and growing middle income populations, as well as other areas like electronic market making and payments, where technology is disrupting traditional players. Investments last year in NN Group, Synchrony Financial, Virtu Financial and Adyen represented some of our investments in these areas.

Our investments in the life sciences & agriculture sectors were primarily focused around global champions. We expanded our portfolio into veterinary pharmaceuticals with our investment in Ceva Santé Animale, a leading global animal health company. We also increased our stake in Gilead Sciences, a US-based biopharmaceutical company at the cutting edge of developing novel therapies for infectious diseases and cancer.


S$30b

Investments for the year

S$19b

Divestments for the year
Temasek will spearhead the rejuvenation of Mandai.

In January, we were especially pleased to announce our partnership with the Singapore Government to spearhead the rejuvenation of Mandai into an integrated wildlife and nature heritage precinct. This builds on the history and success of the Temasek nature portfolio cluster of the Singapore Zoo, Night Safari and the Bird Park. Our project team is having ongoing discussions with various stakeholders and potential partners to garner fresh ideas for this multi-generation endeavour.


As at 31 March 2015, in terms of geographic exposure by underlying assets, Singapore and China were highest at 28% and 27% respectively.


Portfolio exposure to North America and Europe grew moderately to 9% and 8% respectively. 


About 10% of our portfolio is in third party managed funds.


Portfolio exposure to North America and Europe grew moderately to 9% and 8% respectively.

Our Institution

Since 2004, we have established public markers to instil financial discipline for the long term. This year, we have broadened the public marker of our credit quality beyond credit ratings to include key credit parameters in our Credit Profile based on the financials of Temasek as an investment entity.

For the year ended 31 March 2015, our dividend was 16.1 times over interest expense, with a dividend income of S$7.9 billion and interest expense of S$0.5 billion.


We have a robust bottom-up approach for our T-GEM (Temasek Geometric Expected Return Model), which simulates the likelihood of our long term return based on various economic scenarios.


Stakeholder engagement continues to be an institutional priority. During the year, we activated digital platforms such as LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Facebook for a broader and more timely engagement with our stakeholders, including the young.


We hosted our inaugural Ecosperity conference in September 2014, featuring dialogue with global business and thought leaders. We believe growth for prosperity can be intertwined with a respect for our environment. Last year’s theme on natural resources will be followed by this year’s focus on urbanisation. Young students had separate sessions to meet with global leaders, and we shared content with a wider audience through our digital channels.

16.1x

Dividend over interest expense

S$7.9b

Dividend income
The move to include Temasek in the NIR framework, if approved by Parliament, does not affect our dividend policy, or our investment strategies and operations.

In his Budget Speech to Parliament in February 2015, Singapore’s Finance Minister proposed that Temasek be included in the Net Investment Returns (NIR) framework for purposes of the Government Budget spending rule. This means the Singapore Government may spend up to half of the expected long term returns of Temasek’s portfolio, rather than up to half of the dividends that our shareholder, the Minister for Finance, receives from Temasek. The move to include Temasek in the NIR framework, if approved by Parliament, does not affect our dividend policy, or our investment strategies and operations. Our constitutional responsibility to protect our past reserves also remains unchanged.

Our Communities

In 2013, in preparation for the Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS) epidemic potentially reaching Asia, we sponsored ST Engineering to develop a new generation of N95 masks, including sizes for children. The successful development resulted in the 2015 launch of the AIR+ Smart Mask, the first certified N95 mask globally with sizes to fit children from age 7 and up, and the AIR+ Micro Ventilators for better comfort and efficacy.


In 2014, we launched a new endowment – the Temasek Emergency Preparedness Fund (T-PREP Fund) – to help communities prepare for and recover from emergencies, such as natural disasters or viral epidemics.


Among the programmes supported in 2014/15 was a Temasek Cares initiative to provide the AIR+ Smart Masks and AIR+ Micro Ventilators to 13,000 disadvantaged children in Singapore. This proved timely given the recent spread of MERS cases to parts of Asia this year.


In 2014, we launched a new endowment – the Temasek Emergency Preparedness Fund (T-PREP Fund) – to help communities prepare for and recover from emergencies, such as natural disasters or viral epidemics.

Another timely programme initiated by Temasek Cares last year was the training of counsellors to support children who have experienced trauma. Following the earthquake at Mount Kinabalu in Sabah, Malaysia, in June 2015, the first batch of trained counsellors, social workers and therapists was activated to support the primary school students, who survived the disaster, and their friends. We are saddened by the devastating loss of lives and extend our deepest condolences to affected families.


Temasek Foundation piloted a regional student leadership exchange for students from polytechnics and technical institutes in the region during the year. Three hundred students from Cambodia, Indonesia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam covered cross-cultural learning on regional economic and community issues. With this initial success, the programme is expected to double its intake in 2015.


Economic Outlook

We are cautiously optimistic on the outlook for the next few years. The US economic recovery remains on track, if at times uneven. China is pursuing a more sustainable growth path, and has the means and tools to address credit stresses in its financial system.


This macroeconomic backdrop, combined with easy monetary policy by most central banks, caused a rally in major equity markets, with China a clear outperformer. As a result, valuations, especially in more mature markets, are well above historical averages.


The sharp correction in energy prices during the year surprised most market participants. In the short term, this has increased real income for consumers and reduced costs for businesses. While investments in some energy projects have been scaled back, we do not anticipate a sharp rebound in energy prices in the near term.


In Appreciation

A series of community activities to celebrate Temasek’s 40th anniversary last year culminated in an anniversary dinner at the Istana in September 2014. The occasion was graced by Singapore’s President Tony Tan Keng Yam and Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, as well as many of our friends and partners from home and abroad.

At the annual meeting with our Temasek International Panel members last year, there were substantive discussions on some of the most challenging issues facing investors. We are deeply appreciative of their purposeful contributions as our team has benefited much from the robust discussion and insights. 


Inaugurated in 2003, the Temasek Advisory Panel (TAP) allowed us to draw on the wisdom and experience of eminent leaders in Singapore and the region. Our portfolio company leaders and our management have benefited much over the years. As the TAP drew to a conclusion in December 2014, to be replaced by regional TAPs, we would like to record our thanks to all panel members.


I thank my fellow Board members for their active stewardship of Temasek during the past year. We welcomed three new Directors during the course of the year: Bobby Chin and Robert Ng, whom I mentioned last year, joined us in June 2014. Peter Voser, the retired CEO of Royal Dutch Shell, joined our Board in January 2015. Each of our new Directors bring with them a wealth of experience in finance and various sectors of industry.


Tribute to Mr Lee Kuan Yew

In closing, I would like to record a special tribute to Singapore’s founding Prime Minister, Mr Lee Kuan Yew, who passed away on 23 March 2015.

Fifty years ago, Mr Lee led a generation of Singaporeans to embrace an uncertain future, as the world’s newest independent nation. He rallied them: “Ten years from now, this will be a metropolis. Never fear”. 


Employers, workers and the Government forged a groundbreaking tripartite partnership that provided stability and attracted multinational investors. Jobs were created and the economic and social opportunities followed. Singapore companies including Temasek portfolio companies thrived.


"He who survives is the man who is able to adapt to changing situations."
Lee Kuan Yew,
Founding Prime Minister,
Republic of Singapore, 13 July 1966

Right from the start, Mr Lee set the tone for a multi-racial society; meritocratic regardless of race, language, religion or culture. He also noted during the founding years that “He who survives is the man who is able to adapt to changing situations”. And thus, Singapore embarked on entrepreneurship at a national level, continually inventing and reinventing ourselves – adapting, even as we invest and reinvest in our people.

The values of integrity and meritocracy, the openness to a multi-racial world, the pragmatic idealism, the discipline to deliver, the commitment to do the right things for future generations to come – these ideals define Mr Lee and his founding generation. They also shape Temasek and our early portfolio companies to think as owners, and take responsibility as stewards, even as we strive to deliver and grow our businesses.


This valuable legacy from our pioneer generation, led by Mr Lee, has and will enable us to embrace the future with confidence.

chairman-signature
LIM BOON HENG

Chairman


July 2015

US$194 billion as at 31 March 2015.
Aggregated risk-adjusted cost of capital for the year was 8%.
Refers to information of Temasek Holdings (Private) Limited (THPL) and its Investment Holding Companies (IHCs). IHCs are THPL’s wholly owned subsidiaries, whose boards of directors or equivalent governing bodies comprise employees or nominees of THPL, wholly owned Temasek Pte. Ltd. (TPL), and/or TPL’s wholly owned subsidiaries. The principal activities of THPL and its IHCs are that of investment holding, financing, or the provision of investment advisory and consultancy services to THPL and its IHCs.
Under the Singapore Minister for Finance (Incorporation) Act (Chapter 183), the Minister for Finance is a body corporate.