作为一家商业投资公司和企业公民,淡马锡宪章清晰地表述了我们的定位与使命。


淡马锡拥有并管理自身的资产和投资组合,在《新加坡公司法》和《新加坡宪法》 的框架下运营。我们的年度法定财务报表由国际审计事务所审计。


根据《新加坡公司法》,淡马锡是一家享有豁免权的私人公司由董事会负责领导。

《新加坡宪法》规定,淡马锡第五附表机构一,有宪法责任保护公司过去所累积的储备金。

淡马锡在当届政府内阁就职之前所积累的储备金构成了我们过去所累积的储备金。


除非关系到保护淡马锡过去所累积的储备金,不论是新加坡共和国总统或我们的股东新加坡政府,均不参与淡马锡的投资、脱售或其他商业决策。

淡马锡不管理新加坡的公积金储蓄。

淡马锡不管理新加坡的公积金储蓄、政府盈余、外汇储备或其他《新加坡宪法》第五附表机构的储备金,这些是由相应的宪法第五附表机构,如中央公积金局和新加坡金融管理局等进行独立管理。每一家宪法第五附表机构负责保护它们各自过去所累积的储备金。


与新加坡总统的关系

在《新加坡宪法》规定下,我们的董事会和首席执行长有责任保护淡马锡过去所累积的储备金。


在淡马锡总储备金低于过去所累积的储备金之前,我们的董事会和首席执行长必须征得总统的批准。


如果淡马锡总储备金等于或高于过去所累积的储备金,就意味着过去所累积的储备金得到了保护。


任何现有投资按市值计算下跌,不会造成总储备金低于过去所累积的储备金。


为了保护淡马锡过去所累积的储备金,我们的责任包括确保每项脱售均基于市场公允价值基于市场公允价值进行脱售所带来的变现亏损,不会造成总储备金低于过去所累积的储备金。

保护淡马锡过去所累积的储备金

past-reserves-chinese

与股东的关系

淡马锡成立于1974年6月25日,新加坡财政部长全资拥有。我们以投资公司的身份拥有并管理自己的资产,而非股东的资产代管人。

《新加坡公司法》规定,我们的股东在行使对淡马锡董事会成员任免或续任的权力时,须得到总统的同意董事会对首席执行长的任免也须获得总统的同意作为“第二把钥匙”理念的一部分,这些约束确保淡马锡董事会成员和首席执行长的诚信,以保护我们过去所累积的储备金。

我们以投资公司的身份拥有并管理自己的资产,而非股东的资产代管人。
国家储备净投资回报框架不会影响或改变淡马锡派发的股息金额。

自2001年以来,新加坡政府获准可在国家储备净投资收益 (Net Investment Income) 框架下使用淡马锡最高50%的股息。2015年2月23日,新加坡财政部长发表预算案声明时,建议将淡马锡纳入国家储备净投资回报(Net Investment Return) 框架内。国家储备净投资回报框架下的政府预算使用规程允许新加坡政府使用最高不超过该框架下投资机构的预期长期实际回报的50%。

将淡马锡纳入国家储备净投资回报框架,并不会影响或改变淡马锡派发给股东的股息金额。淡马锡会继续根据董事会批准的股息政策和所得利润,每年建议派发股息金额。我们的利润一部分以股息的形式派发给股东,另一部分留存用于再投资以获取未来回报,股息政策在这两者之间取得平衡,并同时考虑我们独立保护淡马锡过去所累积的储备金的宪法责任。


国家储备净投资回报框架也不会影响或改变淡马锡作为长期投资者的策略和运营,以及《新加坡宪法》赋予淡马锡保护其过去所累积的储备金的特殊责任。

与投资组合公司的关系

作为积极的投资者和资产所有者,我们通过增持、减持或维持现有投资来管理投资组合,以提高经风险调整后的长期回报。


淡马锡投资组合公司的日常管理与商业决策均由各自的董事会与管理层负责。


作为积极活跃的股东,我们在投资组合公司中推行健全的公司治理制度。


我们支持建立由具备丰富商业经验的高水平、多元化人才组成的董事会,以指导和支持高级管理层。我们同样鼓励投资组合公司的董事会寻找并考虑具有相关背景与经验的潜在董事人选,并对董事会的继任计划进行年度评估。


鉴于董事会成员有受信责任保障各自公司的利益,我们主张董事会独立于管理层,以实现对管理层的有效监督。这一理念还包括建立由多数具备独立性且富有经验的非执行董事组成的董事会,履行对管理层的监督职责。

我们主张一家公司的董事长和首席执行长应该由相互独立的不同人选担任,以确保适当的权力平衡,促进独立决策,加强董事会的监督能力。


我们的投资组合公司均由各自的董事会与管理层指导和管理。淡马锡不参与投资组合公司的商业决策或运营。


淡马锡充分行使股东权利以保障我们的利益,包括在股东大会上投票。


淡马锡投资组合公司均由各自的董事会与管理层指导和管理。

与社群的关系

虽然淡马锡是一家享有豁免权的新加坡私人公司,无需向公众披露任何财务信息,但自2004年起我们选择在《淡马锡年度报告》中公布集团财务概要及投资组合业绩表现。作为备受信赖的资产管护者,我们基于可持续性和健全治理这两大支柱,与新加坡及全球社群保持密切联系。


我们重点支持各类人才培养、社群建设、能力增强以及生活重建的公益项目,帮助个人、家庭以及社群实现可持续发展并改善他们的生活。


10多年前,我们通过了一项政策,将淡马锡每年高于经风险调整后要求的资本回报的部分回报,捐献给公益事业,以负责任的态度持续为社会做出贡献。


管理捐赠基金与开发管理社区及公益项目所需要的技能截然不同。为此,我们于2007年成立了淡马锡信托基金会,负责独立监督淡马锡对特定非盈利公益组织各项捐助和馈赠的管理与发放工作。


这种治理模式将捐赠资金管理从非盈利公益组织的职能中分离出来,由淡马锡信托基金会对资金进行可持续的专业管理,使公益组织能安心专注自身最擅长的领域,即设计和开发公益项目。


我们完全遵守新加坡法律与法规,以及投资或运营所在地的法规条例。

我们基于可持续性和健全治理这两大支柱,与社群保持联系。

我们关注国际投资贸易协定的进展,并与思想领袖和有关机构积极交流。我们也致力于协助外界更好地理解像淡马锡这样的国有实体是如何基于商业原则、脱离政府的干预而运作。


例如,我们与国际货币基金组织 (IMF) 以及全球多个主权投资者积极合作,探索主权投资在圣地亚哥原则 (Santiago  Principles) 下应遵循的最佳实践。淡马锡已超越了圣地亚哥原则规定的披露标准和其他指导原则。

根据《新加坡公司法》(第50章),享有豁免权的私人公司不得拥有超过20名股东且其股权不被任何公司持有,并且无需向公共注册部门申报其经审计的财务报表。
淡马锡控股 (私人)有限公司。
《新加坡宪法》第五附表所列的法定机构及政府公司包括:新加坡政府投资公司 (负责管理新加坡政府的储备金)、中央公积金局、新加坡金融管理局、建屋发展局和裕廊镇管理局。
依据《新加坡宪法》,新加坡总统具有独立的监护角色,以保障新加坡政府和《新加坡宪法》第五附表机构 (包括淡马锡) 各自过去所累积的储备金。
市场公允价值是指买卖双方在公平交易和自愿情况下所确定的价格。
依据《新加坡财政部长 (成立) 法》(第183章),财政部长为法人团体。
总统可独立而非按内阁建议来决定是否授予同意。
国家储备净投资收益框架允许新加坡政府使用该框架下投资机构 (例如淡马锡) 上缴的实际股息、利息和其他收入,最高不超过50%。

Our Temasek Charter espouses who we are and what we do as a commercial investment company, and a corporate member of the wider community. 


We are the owner and manager of our assets and portfolio. We are governed by the Singapore Companies Act and the Singapore Constitution. Our annual statutory financial statements are audited by a major international audit firm.


Under the Singapore Companies Act, Temasek is an exempt private company with our own Board.

Under the Singapore Constitution, Temasek is a Fifth Schedule entity with a constitutional responsibility to safeguard our Company’s past reserves.

Temasek’s past reserves are those accumulated by the Company before the current term of Government. 


Neither the President of the Republic of Singapore nor the Singapore Government, our shareholder, is involved in our investment, divestment or other business decisions, except in relation to the protection of Temasek’s own past reserves.

Temasek does not manage CPF savings.

Temasek does not manage Central Provident Fund (CPF) savings, Government surpluses, the foreign exchange reserves of Singapore, or the reserves of any other Fifth Schedule entity. These are independently managed by the relevant Fifth Schedule entities such as the CPF Board and the Monetary Authority of Singapore. Each Fifth Schedule entity is separately accountable for the protection of its own past reserves.

Relating to the President of Singapore

Our Board and CEO have a responsibility under the Singapore Constitution to protect our Company’s past reserves. 


Our Board and CEO have a duty to seek approval from the President before any draw occurs on our Company’s past reserves.


There is no draw on our past reserves if our total reserves equal or exceed our past reserves. 


Mark to market declines on existing investments would not be a draw on past reserves.

Duties to protect our past reserves include ensuring that every disposal of investment is transacted at fair market value. A realised loss arising from such disposals at fair market value would not be a draw on past reserves.

 

Protection of Temasek's Past Reserves

past-reserves

Relating to Our Shareholder

Incorporated on 25 June 1974, Temasek is wholly owned by the Singapore Minister for Finance. We own and manage our own assets as an investment company, and not as an asset managing agent of our shareholder.

Our shareholder’s right under the Singapore Companies Act to appoint, reappoint or remove our Board members is subject to the President’s concurrence. The appointment or removal of the CEO by our Board is also subject to the concurrence of the President. These constraints are part of the “second key” concept to safeguard the integrity of our Board and CEO in protecting Temasek’s past reserves.

We own and manage our own assets as an investment company, and not as an asset managing agent of our shareholder.
The NIR framework does not determine the amount of dividends that Temasek distributes.

Since 2001, the Singapore Government is permitted to spend up to 50% of Temasek’s dividends under the Net Investment Income framework. During the Budget Speech on 23 February 2015, the Minister for Finance proposed that Temasek be included in the Net Investment Returns (NIR) framework. The spending rule under the NIR framework allows the Government to spend up to 50% of the expected long term real rate of return of the investment entities in the framework.

The inclusion of Temasek in the NIR framework does not determine the amount of dividends that Temasek distributes to our shareholder. Temasek will continue to declare dividends annually, based on the profit we earn, in accordance with our Board-approved dividend policy. The dividend policy balances the sustainable distribution of profits as dividends to our shareholder, with the retention of profits for reinvestment to generate future returns. The policy also takes into account our constitutional responsibility to independently protect Temasek’s past reserves.


The NIR framework also does not affect, change or impact Temasek’s strategies and operations as a long term investor, and Temasek’s special responsibility under the Singapore Constitution to protect Temasek’s past reserves.


Relating to Our Portfolio Companies

We manage our portfolio as an active investor and owner. We increase, decrease or hold our investment holdings to enhance our risk-adjusted returns for the long term. 


The day to day management and business decisions of companies in our portfolio are the responsibility of their respective boards and management.


As an active and engaged shareholder, we promote sound corporate governance in our portfolio companies. 


We support the formation of high calibre, experienced and diverse boards to guide and complement management leadership. This includes encouraging the boards of portfolio companies to identify and consider potential directors with relevant backgrounds and experience, and conduct annual reviews of their succession plans. 


Board directors have a fiduciary duty to safeguard the interests of their respective companies. Accordingly, we advocate that boards be independent of management in order to provide effective oversight and supervision of management. This includes having mostly non-executive board members with the independence and experience to oversee management.


We advocate that the Chairman and CEO roles be held by separate persons, independent of each other, to ensure a healthy balance of power for independent decision making, and a greater capacity for management supervision by the board. 


Companies in our portfolio are guided and managed by their respective boards and management. Temasek does not direct their business decisions or operations. 


We protect our interests by exercising our shareholder rights, including voting at shareholders’ meetings.


Companies in our portfolio are guided and managed by their respective boards and management.

Relating to Our Communities

While we are a Singapore exempt private company, exempted from disclosing any financial information publicly, we have chosen to publish our Group Financial Summary and portfolio performance in our annual Temasek Review since 2004. As a trusted steward, our engagement with our communities in Singapore and around the world is based on the twin pillars of sustainability and good governance. 


We support community programmes that focus on building people, building communities, building capabilities and rebuilding lives. These programmes enable individuals, families and communities to have sustainable improvements and progress in their lives.


More than a decade ago, we instituted a policy of setting aside a share of our excess returns for community contributions in each year that we exceed our risk-adjusted hurdle. This policy is founded on the concept of sustainable and responsible contributions.


The skills and capabilities for the management of endowment funds and for the development and management of community and social programmes are very different. This was why we established Temasek Trust in 2007 to oversee the management and distribution of endowments and gifts from Temasek, which have been earmarked for specific non-profit philanthropic organisations (NPPOs). 


The governance model separates the financial management of endowments from the NPPOs. This enables them to focus on what they do best – developing programmes for the community, with the peace of mind that their endowments would be professionally managed to give them a sustainable source of support over the years.


We comply with all obligations under Singapore laws and regulations, as well as those of the jurisdictions where we have investments or operations.


Our engagement with our communities is based on the twin pillars of sustainability and good governance.

We follow developments in international investment and trade agreements, and engage with thought leaders and authorities. We aim to promote a better understanding of how state owned entities like ourselves operate based on commercial principles, independent of government interference.


An example is our active participation with the International Monetary Fund and various sovereign investors from around the world to develop best practices under the Santiago Principles for sovereign investments. Temasek exceeds the applicable standards of disclosure and other guidelines under the Santiago Principles.

Under the Singapore Companies Act, an exempt private company has no more than 20 shareholders and no corporate shareholder, and is exempted from filing its audited financials with the public registry.
Temasek Holdings (Private) Limited.
Fifth Schedule entities under the Singapore Constitution include GIC Private Limited, which manages the reserves of the Singapore Government, the Central Provident Fund Board, the Monetary Authority of Singapore, Housing and Development Board, and Jurong Town Corporation.
The Singapore President has an independent custodial role under the Singapore Constitution to safeguard the respective past reserves of the Singapore Government and the Fifth Schedule entities, including that of Temasek.
Fair market value is the price agreed between a willing buyer and a willing seller on an arm’s length basis.
Under the Singapore Minister for Finance (Incorporation) Act, the Minister for Finance is a body corporate.
The President’s concurrence is exercised independently and not on the advice of Cabinet.
The Net Investment Income framework enables the Singapore Government to spend up to half of the actual dividends, interest and other income received from the entities in the framework (e.g. Temasek).